![](https://blogger.googleusercontent.com/img/b/R29vZ2xl/AVvXsEjyc2Kdt8ofxjFeVo8rdhgC33XgfVurZ1W2JOQKVUgwrZbszXFD2RE2wdOr_2m4vJ93XYq8qs4dzshi3wxFc9Z5DTW39L30A8R7IH-OKqcTNDC2yAC87TZCb-znn3CYUgPodFoW-9cxhuuZ/s320/stp.jpg)
often out of support for animal rights.[3][4] Most vegetarians consume dairy products, and many eat eggs. Lacto-vegetarianism includes dairy products but excludes eggs, ovo-vegetarianism includes eggs but not dairy, and lacto-ovo vegetarianism includes both eggs and dairy products. The reasons for choosing vegetarianism may be related to one or more of the following: morality, religion, culture, ethics, aesthetics, environment, society, economy, politics, taste, or health. A generic term for both vegetarianism and veganism, as well as for similar diets, is "plant-based diets".[10]
Semi-vegetarianism consists of a diet largely of vegetarian foods, but may include fish and sometimes poultry, as well as dairy products and eggs. The association of semi-vegetarianism with vegetarianism in popular vernacular, particularly pescetarianism (also called pesco-vegetarianism and described as a "vegetarian" diet that includes fish[5][6][7][8]), has led to what vegetarian groups cite as improper categorisation of these diets as vegetarian. The Vegetarian Society, which initiated popular usage of the term vegetarian as early as 1847, condemns the association of semi-vegetarian diets as valid vegetarianism; the organisation points out that the consumption of fish is not vegetarian.[9]
No comments:
Post a Comment